Canoe do this?

Off-Topic conversations about what ever you feel like talking about.

Canoe do this?

Postby Enzo » Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:26 am

In honor of the other thread about kayaks, many years ago now, some of the guys at work asked me to join them on a canoe trip. I have never camped out, never enjoyed the outdoors where I couldn't come indoors from it. I had zero experience, so of course I said "Sure, I'll go."

I contacted a lady friend who had a tent and some experience as a companion. (Experience and a tent, not experience as a companion) We were to rent a canoe on the Au Sable river in Michigan. I was looking forward to a trip down a river in the wilderness. I traveled heavy. Hey, I'm a novice. A case of beer in a cooler. But I also brought stem glasses champagne, and some caviar.

Kroger is a major national grocery chain. Their generic products went under the name of Cost Cutter. I kid you not, in the fish cooler they had big bowls of "Cost Cutter Caviar". SO I bought a little tub of the stuff. Also a loaf of the tiny rye breads, and some sour cream. I like caviar, but when camping, just how good does it have to be?.

One thing I noticed about my journey down a wilderness river is that if I thought I would be isolated, I was naive. The river was like a busy highway, endless streams of canoes sailing downstream. Oh it is still beautiful country through the forests on the water. But it was rush hour on the river. We'd wave to one another. People pulled up on shore for breaks. We'd wave to them, they'd wave to us. One big wavy river. I thought we'd be out there wondering if there was anyone else left on earth.

SO at some point we pulled up and took a break on a bank. I spread out a cloth, we poured champagne into our stem glasses, and ate caviar with sour cream on rye breads. We'd lift our glasses to paddlers-by. Several times we heard from afloat, "Now THAT is the way to do it."